It has been really interesting to see the issue of privacy and security arise in the past year. Although I can completely see where the concern is coming from, I've been surprised to see so many people get upset about this whole thing when they haven't even done their own research. Most of these people that I hear every day freaking out about their information being shared, are people that don't even read over the full agreements and policies that they agree to by signing when they buy a new phone, set up a new computer software, sign up for internet service, or sign a cell phone contract.
The sad thing is, that in all of our loss of privacy, we are doing a lot of this to ourselves. We are constantly giving up our privacy and information just to receive instant gratification. We want to use our cell phone, we want to connect with our friends, we want to connect to the internet, and we are not going to take the time to consider how this choice might affect us in 2 years or even in the next 5 minutes. We are not going to take the time to read through every single term and condition. That's completely understandable, but that is still our choice. Nothing forces us to use cell phones, internet, or technology at all. Although it would be ridiculously inconvenient, we could live a life with no technology. That sounds absolutely ridiculous, but we could do that. Nobody is forcing us to sign these contracts or agree to the terms and conditions on the 50 apps we download on our phones. So the amount of people that are so surprised that companies are tracking their information and text messages kind of surprises me. I'm sitting there like, "Really? What did you think clicking 'yes, agree to allow Snapchat access to the microphone,' meant? What do you think was in all those pages of terms and conditions that you agreed to?"
I'm not saying that I agree with the lack of privacy that is offered by the internet, search engines, applications, our phones and so much more. But, I understand contracts. And unfortunately, every contract I sign is a risk if I haven't read through it thoroughly. And I get that. I take risks every day that I probably shouldn't. But I know that if I signed the contract, or I clicked yes, that I have read and agree to everything, then that really can't be argued. Anything beyond that, that I didn't agree to, no, it is not right. But I think when we are all ready to attack these companies that use our information, we should just first look into what we've agreed to. That's all I am saying. From there, we can argue and fight against companies all we want for the things they are doing that we did not agree to.
No comments:
Post a Comment