The topic for this discussion is something that I have put a
lot of thought into this week. I already have thought in the past throughout my
grade school years, that our education system was not ideal. This week’s posts and videos
have just reinforced my thoughts on this more so. However, I'm not ready to just kick anyone involved with our education system to the curb. Yes, I agree that everyone learns differently, that
testing is not an accurate measure of intelligence or how well someone will be
able to do their future job, and that often times a high school diploma or even
a bachelor’s degree is overrated by employers, and not a true measure of a person's potential and ability. I agree with all of that. My
question is, what’s the solution?
This question made me really enjoy the video we watched in
class today, because I was able to see different technology that allows for
students to learn in a way that is more unique and personalized to them and
their own learning styles. It will be really interesting to see what comes of
all these new ideas, and I just hope that it is all effective and we don’t get
too caught up in throwing out the current education system. I don’t think it’s
all bad, and I honestly don’t have a better idea of how to run it than it is
already being ran. I don’t know different methods that work for different
people. I don’t know of a way other than SAT and ACT scores for colleges to
filter through millions of applicants each year, or something other than
degrees for employers to use to filter through hundreds of applicants for a
job. I do know that with colleges and jobs the way that they are right now,
testing scores and certifications/degrees are a quick way to filter out a lot
of people that may not know how to work hard, or just don’t care. I am not
saying that everyone that has low testing scores, no certifications or degrees
doesn’t know how to work hard or isn’t smart. I know that’s not true because I
personally know of a lot of extremely successful, mind-blowingly intelligent,
and hardworking people that fall into that category. I’m just saying that if I
was a college or an employer, I wouldn’t know how else to filter through people
without having a one on one interview with each person for an hour. No college
or employer has the time for that.